California School Immunization Law | Grades K-12
Immunizations – EC 49403, 48216; HSC 120325, 120335, 120338, 120370, 120375; and 120365
Students must be immunized against certain communicable diseases. Students are prohibited from attending school unless immunization requirements are met for age and grade. The school district shall cooperate with local health officials in measures necessary for the prevention and control of communicable diseases in school age children. The district may use any funds, property, or personnel and may permit any person licensed as a physician or registered nurse to administer an immunizing agent to any student whose parents have consented in writing.
Beginning January 1, 2016, parents of students in any school, will no longer be allowed to submit a personal beliefs exemption to a currently required vaccine. A personal beliefs exemption on file at school prior to January 1, 2016 will continue to be valid until the student enters the next grade span at kindergarten (including transitional kindergarten) or 7th grade.
Students are not required to have immunizations if they attend a home-based private school or an independent study program and do not receive classroom-based instruction. However, parents must continue to provide immunizations records for these students to their schools. The immunization requirements do not prohibit students from accessing special education and related services required by their individualized education programs.
A student not fully immunized may be temporarily excluded from a school or other institution when that child has been exposed to a specified disease and whose documentary proof of immunization status does not show proof of immunization against one of the communicable diseases described above.
Guide to Immunizations Required for School Entry
Use guide below as a quick reference to help you determine whether children seeking admission to your school meet California’s School immunization requirements. For the actual laws, See Health and Safety Code, Division 105; Part 2, Chapter 1, Sections 120325-120380; California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 1, Chapter 4, Subchapter 8, Sections 6000-6075. If you have any questions, call the Immunization Coordinator at your local health department or go to http://eziz.org/assets/docs/shotsforschool/IMM-1080.pdf or www.nvic.org/Vaccine-Laws/statevaccine-requirements/california.aspx
|Polio||4 doses at any age, but... 3 doses meet requirement for ages 4–6 years if at least one was given on or after the 4th birthday; 3 doses meet requirement for ages 7–17 years if at least one was given on or after the 2nd birthday.|
|Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Pertussis||Age 6 years and under DTP, DTaP or any combination of DTP or DTaP with DT (diphtheria and tetanus) 5 doses at any age, but... 4 doses meet requirements for ages 4–6 years if at least one was on or after the 4th birthday.|
|Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR)||
Age 4-6 years (kindergarten and above): 2 doses both on or after 1st birthday.
7th grade: 2 doses both on or after 1st birthday.
Age 7-17 years and not entering or advancing into 7th grade: 1 dose on or after 1st birthday.
|Hepatitis B||Age 4-6 years (kindergarten and above): 3 doses|
|Tdap Booster (Tetanus, reduced diphtheria, and pertussis)||7th grade: 1 dose on or after 7th birthday.|